AI companion apps and your privacy: what 55 apps do with your chats
44 of 55 apps store your chats, 13 may train on them, 34 do not say. The privacy terms of every app in the directory, in one table.
By AI Companion Radar Editors
· 9 min read

Desk research: every row comes from the app’s own terms, privacy policy, help centre, pricing page or store listing, read on 2 October 2026 (eight apps added on 8 October 2026 and four on 14 October 2026), with second-hand facts marked “as reported”. AI Companion Radar takes no money from any app and uses no affiliate links. Confidence reflects how much we could read first-party.
Of the 55 AI companion apps in the Radar directory, 44 say in their privacy policy that they store your conversations, ten do not say either way, and one (RizzMaster) keeps chats on the phone only. Thirteen state that conversations may be used to train or improve their models; seven say they are not; the remaining 34 are silent on the question, which in practice means you should assume yes. Only 31 let you delete your account yourself; 18 need an email, and six do not describe deletion at all. Fourteen name no privacy law at all. The table below has every app, with the source quality marked.

Mozilla’s 2024 privacy report on romantic AI chatbots, which first drew attention to tracker counts, October 2026.
How we checked
For each app we read the privacy policy and terms of service as published on 2 October 2026, looking for five things: whether chat content is stored, whether it may be used for training, how long it is kept, whether you can delete your own account, and which privacy law the policy claims to follow. Where a page would not load (CrushOn, Muah AI, Chub AI and a few others block automated readers) the row rests on earlier research and reviews and is marked low confidence. “Not stated” means the document exists and does not answer the question. We did not test deletion requests. The same reading of each app’s terms sits behind our table of age checks across the directory.
The table
App | Operator | Chats stored | Used for training | Retention | Deletion | Law named | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Novera Group s.r.o., Prague, Czech Republic | yes | not stated | Unlocked media deleted after 72 hours; after account deletion data kept 6 months, then permanently deleted including backups | self-serve | GDPR | Medium | |
ICHIGOICHIE TECH LIMITED, Delaware company with office in Las Vegas, USA | not stated | yes | As long as reasonably necessary; no fixed period | by request | both | Medium | |
Ex-human, Inc., California, USA | not stated | not stated | No fixed period; usage data kept ‘for a shorter period’ unless needed for security, functionality or legal reasons | self-serve | both | Medium | |
EverAI Limited, Malta | yes | yes | Account data 3 years after last activity; financial records 10 years; marketing data 2 years | by request | both | Medium | |
Chai Research Corp., United States | yes | yes | No longer than the life of the account plus 5 years after deletion | self-serve | GDPR | Medium | |
Character Technologies, Inc., United States | yes | no | Kept as long as necessary for the stated purposes; no fixed period | self-serve | both | Medium | |
Charstar (bootstrapped startup, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA, as reported; legal entity not published) | yes | not stated | not published | not stated | none stated | Low | |
Chub AI Inc. (country not stated; App Store provider name) | yes | no | not published | self-serve | none stated | Medium | |
TECHIEPIE LTD, Cyprus (operations in the United States) | yes | yes | No fixed period; kept for the stated purposes or as long as the law requires | not stated | GDPR | Low | |
FameLink SA, Montsevelier, Switzerland | yes | yes | not stated; residual backups kept for a period after deletion | self-serve | GDPR | Medium | |
Digi-Ai, Inc., San Francisco, California, USA (as reported) | yes | not stated | not published | by request | none stated | Low | |
Techcommerce Unlimited, Tustin, California, USA (site footer credits dondi.ai Labs Inc.) | yes | yes | No fixed period; kept ‘as long as necessary’ for the stated purposes | by request | both | Medium | |
Miracle AI UG (haftungsbeschränkt), Berlin, Germany | yes | not stated | As long as necessary for the purpose; no fixed period | self-serve | GDPR | Medium | |
DreamAI SRL, Bucharest, Romania | yes | not stated | As long as necessary, then deleted or anonymised; no fixed period | by request | GDPR | High | |
Novi Limited (HE 407352), Nicosia, Cyprus | yes | yes | Kept ‘for the time necessary to provide the services’; no fixed period | self-serve | both | Medium | |
Advanced AI Labs S.R.L., Oradea, Romania | not stated | not stated | As long as necessary; usage data for a shorter period | self-serve | none stated | Medium | |
not stated on the site (THANKLIFE LIMITED on app stores, as reported) | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | none stated | Low | |
NextDay AI Incorporated, Montreal, Canada (with NextDay AI USA Inc, Delaware, and NextDay AI EU Ltd, Cyprus) | yes | not stated | For the life of the account, then usually 6 years after closure | by request | GDPR | Medium | |
404 Intelligence LTD, Nicosia, Cyprus (HE 466237) | yes | not stated | For the life of the account, then usually 6 years after closure | by request | GDPR | Medium | |
Vilala Limited (HE 442229), Nicosia, Cyprus | yes | yes | 5 years after account erasure, per the privacy policy | by request | GDPR | Medium | |
JanitorAI Inc., United States | yes | not stated | Kept only as long as necessary for the account, legal obligations and business needs; no fixed period | self-serve | both | High | |
Novi Limited, Nicosia, Cyprus | yes | yes | For the time necessary to provide the service; no fixed period | self-serve | both | Medium | |
Beautifully Incorporated, United States | yes | not stated | Chats and generated media kept until you delete the Kin or the account; audio and video from calls processed ephemerally and not stored | self-serve | CCPA | High | |
SNB Technologies LTD, Nicosia, Cyprus | yes | not stated | For the life of the account, then usually 6 years after closure | by request | GDPR | Medium | |
Skywork AI Pte. Ltd., Singapore | yes | not stated | Kept ‘as necessary for the proper business needs’; deleted or anonymised when no longer needed. No fixed period | by request | CCPA | Medium | |
Warmtech Ltd, Limassol, Cyprus (HE 418620) | yes | not stated | As long as necessary for the purpose; no fixed period | self-serve | both | Medium | |
not stated in the terms (site footer says ‘California Based’; USWX Inc, Los Angeles, as reported) | not stated | not stated | not stated | by request | none stated | Low | |
Memora AI s.r.o., Czech Republic | yes | not stated | No retention schedule published; financial records kept as the law requires | by request | GDPR | High | |
Nastia Cybernetics, France | yes | not stated | Kept while the account is open; payment records per tax law; rule-violation records up to 7 years | self-serve | both | Medium | |
Nectar AI, LLC / Lick Labs Ltd, London, United Kingdom (US address in Dover, Delaware) | yes | not stated | not stated | not stated | none stated | Medium | |
Glimpse.ai, Inc., United States | yes | not stated | Personal data removed on account deletion, which completes in about 28 days; no fixed period otherwise | self-serve | none stated | Medium | |
Utility3 Ltd (trading as Oh), London, United Kingdom | yes | not stated | While account is active; after deletion removed from live systems within 30 days, backups within 90 days, limited records up to 12 months | by request | GDPR | Medium | |
Dream Studio USA, Inc., United States (with Tektopia Ltd, Cyprus) | yes | yes | Kept as long as necessary for the stated purposes; popular public characters may be kept indefinitely | self-serve | both | Medium | |
WithFeeling.ai, Inc., Delaware, USA (App Store publisher listed as Parallel Dots TX Limited) | yes | yes | No fixed period; kept ‘as long as necessary’ for the stated purposes | self-serve | none stated | Medium | |
PepHop AI HK Limited, Hong Kong (billing via ‘MIMOO LLC’ on Stripe), as reported | yes | not stated | not published | not stated | none stated | Low | |
Singularity Mutual Entertainment Culture Media Limited, Hong Kong (app stores: Cloud Whale Interactive Technology LLC) | yes | not stated | As long as necessary; usage data shorter; anonymised data kept indefinitely | self-serve | both | High | |
VisionAI Labs Limited, Dublin, Ireland | not stated | not stated | As long as necessary for the purpose; no fixed period | by request | none stated | Medium | |
Luka, Inc., United States | yes | no | Conversation data up to 60 days after the contract ends; anonymised data deleted within 1 year; financial records 10 years | self-serve | both | Medium | |
Eusty Ventures Limited, London, United Kingdom | no | not stated | on phone until you delete it; server security data kept only as long as needed, then deleted automatically | self-serve | GDPR | Medium (operator confirmed) | |
Zemomedia, Espoo, Finland (App Store seller: Just Web It Oy) | yes | yes | Kept ‘for the time necessary to provide the services’; no fixed period | self-serve | GDPR | Medium | |
Sakura AI, LLC, Jacksonville, Florida, USA | not stated | not stated | No fixed period; usage data kept ‘for a shorter period’ unless needed for security or legal reasons | self-serve | both | Medium | |
Secret Labs Inc., Dover, Delaware, United States | yes | yes | For the life of the account; chats and personal data deleted immediately on account deletion; transaction records 7 years; security logs up to 12 months | self-serve | both | High | |
Undresso Media Group SRL, Bucharest, Romania | not stated | not stated | No fixed period; kept ‘only for as long as necessary’, generation library retained while a plan is active | self-serve | GDPR | Medium | |
Open-source project (AGPL-3.0), SillyTavern contributors; no company | yes | not applicable | Chats are stored on the user’s own machine or server until the user deletes them | self-serve | none stated | High | |
not stated (terms governed by Hong Kong law; content stored on Hong Kong servers) | yes | not stated | not stated; content kept on a Hong Kong server for repeat access | by request | GDPR | Medium | |
Synapse AI Limited, Hong Kong | not stated | no | Unpublished creations and prompts 7 days; credit history 90 days; account data for the life of the account | self-serve | GDPR | Medium | |
Cube Digital Media Ltd., Dublin, Ireland (per terms archived August 2024) | yes | no | not stated in readable sources | not stated | GDPR | Low | |
Warmtech Ltd, Limassol, Cyprus (operator of Lovescape) | yes | not stated | As long as necessary for the purpose; no fixed period | self-serve | both | Medium | |
NextDay AI Inc., Canada | yes | not stated | Kept only as long as necessary; usage data for a shorter period; no fixed period | self-serve | none stated | Medium | |
SweetAI Limited (country not stated) | yes | not stated | As long as necessary to provide the service; deleted or anonymised within a reasonable timeframe after account deletion | by request | GDPR | Medium | |
INVAI LTD, Nicosia, Cyprus | yes | not stated | For the life of the account, then usually 6 years after closure | self-serve | GDPR | Medium | |
SUBSUP PTE. LTD., Singapore (powered by MiniMax) | yes | not stated | As long as necessary for the purpose; no fixed period | self-serve | CCPA | Medium | |
Celestial Labs Inc, New York, United States (confirmed by the operator 2026-10-14) | yes | no | Until deleted by the user, then up to 30 days; longer where legally required | by request | none stated | High (operator confirmed) | |
Jay Web Development & Services, Olching, Germany | yes | no | Chat sessions deleted 12 months after the last message; request logs 30 days; account data until deletion; financial records up to 10 years | self-serve | GDPR | Medium | |
Xotic Tech OÜ, Tallinn, Estonia | not stated | not stated | No fixed period; kept ‘as long as is necessary’ unless law requires longer | by request | none stated | Medium |
What stands out
Silence is the norm
The most common answer to “is my chat used for training” is no answer. Thirty-four policies never address it. Of the apps that do, Anima, Eva AI, Romantic AI, Darlink AI and Secrets AI say plainly that messages are used to develop the AI, with no opt-out; Character.AI’s current policy says it no longer trains its proprietary models on chats; Chub AI promises not to train on user data, although its policy page could not be read directly this month; SoulGen, Soulkyn, Xeve.ai and VenusX also state that content is not used for training.
Retention periods are vague
Almost every policy keeps data “as long as necessary”. The exceptions are specific enough to be useful: HeraHaven states a five-year retention period, GirlfriendGPT, Kupid AI and GoLove AI keep records for about six years after an account closes, which is a tax-record convention rather than a product choice. AiAllure is the most specific of the newer entries: unlocked media is deleted after 72 hours and account data six months after deletion. MyBabes publishes no retention schedule either, and deletion there is by email rather than a button, which is the weaker of the two approaches.
Deletion
Self-serve deletion is now the majority practice, but not by much. If you care about leaving cleanly, prefer an app that lets you do it from settings: Nomi, Kindroid, Replika, Character.AI, SpicyChat and most of the larger apps do. Email-only deletion is not a red flag on its own, but it is slower and depends on a support inbox.
Which law applies
Sixteen apps name both the GDPR and California’s CCPA, twenty-one name the GDPR alone, three the CCPA alone, and fifteen name nothing. Naming a law does not prove compliance, but a policy that names none is usually a template, and templates rarely describe what actually happens to chat logs. Several operators are in Cyprus, Estonia, Romania, Singapore or Hong Kong; the EU-based ones are bound by the GDPR whether they say so or not.
Things to do before you sign up
Use an email address that is not tied to your name, since most of these apps retain the account record for years.
Do not paste real names, addresses or photos of real people into chats; retention rules apply to those too.
Check for a deletion button before paying. If there is none, write the support address down.
If training matters to you, pick an app that says “no” rather than one that says nothing.
Questions people ask
Do AI companion apps store your conversations?
Almost all of them do. Forty-four of the 55 apps we checked say so in their privacy policy; the rest do not say, which should be read as yes. Conversations are needed to give the companion memory, so storage is the default.
Which AI companion apps do not train on your chats?
Only Character.AI, Chub AI, SoulGen, Soulkyn, Xeve.ai, VenusX and SillyTavern state it. Character.AI’s policy says it no longer trains its proprietary models on chats; Chub AI promises not to train on user data; SillyTavern is self-hosted, so the answer depends on the model provider you connect.
Can I delete my data from an AI girlfriend app?
Thirty-one apps have a self-serve delete option in settings; eighteen require an email to support; six do not describe the process. Under the GDPR you can demand erasure from any EU-based operator regardless of what the app offers.
Is MyBabes private?
Its privacy notice follows the GDPR and says payments are handled by third parties, but it publishes no retention period and account deletion is by email. The FAQ states conversations are not used for external purposes, but the privacy notice itself is silent on training.
Which AI companion app has the best privacy policy?
None is exemplary. Kindroid, Nomi and Character.AI combine self-serve deletion with a named law and specific policy language; the EU-based apps give you statutory rights. The weakest are the apps whose policies name no law and never mention chat content at all.
Apps in this article
MyBabes
Multi-feature
8.3
The broadest creative toolkit in the category: eight named video engines with published per-second prices, two image model lines, a story studio, AI-refereed roleplay games and a creator paywall. Browser only, no voice calls, and the token maths take a minute.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From €9.99/mo (3-month plan)
Editor’s pick

Kindroid
Multi-feature
7.4
The most transparent power-user companion: published memory limits, a new Polaris model, explicit content for verified adults. The free tier ends on 1 October 2026; expect a stacked bill and credit meters.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From $13.99/month on the web ($11.67/month billed yearly); free preview of 50 interactions only
Editor’s pick

Nomi AI
Multi-feature
6.9
The strongest memory in mainstream companion apps, with expressive voice included, held back by suggestive-only images, a no-refund policy and pricing you only see after signing up.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From $15.99/month ($8.33/month billed yearly); free tier available

Character.AI
Roleplay
6.8
The biggest character catalogue around, now in Chapter 11 and up for sale, with its future depending on a buyer who keeps the app running. Strict no-pornography rule, ads and paid Charms on the free tier, and a heavy legal history.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From Free; Lite $4.99/month; c.ai+ $9.99/month or $94.99/year

SpicyChat
Roleplay
6.6
An uncensored, community-driven roleplay platform with a genuinely usable free tier, transparent pricing and a strong model line-up. Short replies, small context on cheaper tiers, no iOS app and regional age checks are the trade-offs.
Images
Voice
Memory
From Free; Get A Taste $5.95/month or $60/year (from 8 September 2026)

Replika
Companion chat
5.9
The original AI companion, mid-rebuild. Replika 2.0 reportedly drops the Diary and the 3D avatar and has cost some users memories. Soft romance only, prices unpublished, all sales final.
Images
Voice
Memory
From Free; paid plans from $7.99/month or $49.99/year on the US App Store (tier not stated)
More from Radar
SpicyChat vs MyBabes: roleplay chat or generation studio?
SpicyChat wins on text roleplay, named chat models, free chat and its $5.95 entry price. MyBabes wins on images, video, stories and creator income. They suit different users.
How to cancel Kupid AI: weekly billing, refunds and deletion
Cancel Kupid AI in your account on kupid.ai or by emailing hello@kupid.ai. Weekly plans renew every seven days, sales are final under the terms, and plan Coins expire after six months.
What images and video really cost on 55 AI companion apps
Ten different in-app currencies, most rates unpublished. The lowest plan, the unit, and the price of an image and a clip on every app in the directory.
CCBill charge on your card: what it is and which AI app billed you
A CCBill charge means a site that uses CCBill billed you. Look it up on support.ccbill.com, cancel there, ask for a refund, and see which AI apps name their processor.
Dondi AI pricing: Premium, token packs and the 24-hour refund rule
Dondi AI Premium is $14.99 a month ($5.99 on the yearly plan) with 200 tokens; images from 5 tokens, clips 50. Refunds only within 24 hours despite a 7-day promise. Worked bills and fine print.
Gay AI boyfriend apps: which ones have a real male-for-male catalogue
Janitor AI, SpicyChat and Chub AI have real gay-tagged catalogues; MyBabes has a dedicated “Create him, gay” builder; OurDream AI asks your orientation; Kindroid lets you build him.
Is Eva AI safe and worth it? Privacy, prices and the catch
Eva AI is run by Novi Limited in Cyprus and collects your messages to develop its AI with no opt-out; prices run $11.99 to $15.99 a month plus unpriced Neurons, and store purchases are final.
How to cancel FantasyGF: subscription, tokens, refunds, deletion
Cancel FantasyGF in Account Settings with the Unsubscribe button, or email hello@fantasygf.com. The plan stays active until the end of the paid period.
What Reddit actually says about AI boyfriend apps (2026 digest)
Reddit recommends Nomi for memory and voice, Kindroid for control, Character.AI for free variety and Janitor AI for uncensored romance, and warns about updates, memory, filters and prices.