Age verification on AI companion apps: who checks, where and how
33 of 43 apps use a checkbox. Six run real checks, only in the UK, Australia, Brazil and parts of the US. Every app’s method, in one table.
By AI Companion Radar Editors
· 7 min read

Desk research: every row comes from the app’s own terms, privacy policy, help centre, pricing page or store listing, read on 2 October 2026, with second-hand facts marked “as reported”. AI Companion Radar takes no money from any app and uses no affiliate links. Confidence reflects how much we could read first-party.
Thirty-three of the 43 apps in the directory still check your age with a checkbox or a date of birth. Six use something stronger, and even those only in some countries: Janitor AI runs k-ID checks in Australia, Brazil and the UK; SpicyChat asks for a video selfie or ID in France, the UK, Italy, Australia and 26 US states before it unlocks adult content; Character.AI runs an age-estimation model on everyone and escalates to a selfie or ID; Kindroid sends suspicious free accounts to Yoti; CrushOn reportedly charges a small card fee in the UK, Australia, Brazil and parts of the EU; Nomi added checks in Australia and Kansas. Four apps do not describe any check at all. The table shows every app and where the real checks apply.

Janitor AI’s help page on age verification for Australia, Brazil and the UK, October 2026.
How we checked
We read each app’s terms, any dedicated age-verification page and the help centre, and recorded the minimum age in the terms, the verification method, and the countries or states where a stronger check applies. Store age ratings are noted where they are the only control. Second-hand reports are marked. We did not create accounts, so we cannot confirm that a described check actually fires.

SpicyChat’s age-verification documentation, October 2026.
The table
App | Minimum age | Method | Where stronger checks apply | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none; Google Play rates the app Mature 17+ | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none; the company told Reuters in early 2026 it would comply with Australia’s age-assurance rules, implementation not published | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none; relies on 18+ app-store ratings and store age gating where stores verify; free access removed in some regions since April 2026 in response to Australia’s codes | Medium | |
13 | ID or selfie | worldwide: an in-house age-estimation model first, then a Persona selfie or ID check where it cannot confirm an adult; open-ended chat closed to under-18s since 25 November 2025; Parental Insights run with k-ID | Medium | |
18 | not stated | none; the NSFW toggle is described as ‘age-gated’ but the method is not documented | Low | |
18 | self-declared | none; iOS app rated 17+ | Medium | |
18 | card charge | UK, Australia, Brazil and parts of the EU since August 2026: a one-off card charge of about $1 to $2 or an ID upload before NSFW unlocks, as reported; US and elsewhere self-declared checkbox | Low | |
not published | not stated | none; store ratings reported as 16+ (Apple) and Mature 17+ (Google Play) | Low | |
18 | self-declared | none; the terms reserve the right to request documents at any time | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | UK: age verification required for some features since 25 July 2025 (provider and method not named) | High | |
18 | self-declared | none; terms say an automated system may block suspected minors until proof of age is supplied. App Store rating 18+ | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | not stated | none | Low | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | k-ID/Yoti/third party | Australia and Brazil from 24 April 2026 and the UK from 15 June 2026, detected by IP: k-ID with on-device facial age estimation, a government ID scan or an existing AgeKey; elsewhere self-declared | High | |
18 | self-declared | third-party age assurance only where law or card-network rules require it (provider not named) | Medium | |
18 | k-ID/Yoti/third party | worldwide for free accounts that behavioural age estimation flags as possibly under 18 (under 2% of new free accounts): Yoti selfie age estimate or government ID, images not retained; a payment method on file, including the trial, counts as verification | High | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
17 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none | Low | |
18 | self-declared | none | High | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
13 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | Australia and Kansas since March 2026 (company update of 16 March 2026; method and provider not published); elsewhere date of birth at sign-up, with a valid card on file treated as verification for the least-restricted web tier | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | an extra ‘verify age’ step is shown in some markets; countries and provider not published | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none; NSFW toggle unlocks after an age confirmation checkbox | Low | |
18 | k-ID/Yoti/third party | UK (Ondato or Yoti under the Online Safety Act); elsewhere date of birth self-declared | High | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none published; date of birth at sign-up plus 18+ store ratings; stronger checks reported in some regions after the Italian fine and Australia’s March 2026 codes, no universal ID or selfie gate | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none; App Store rating 18+ | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | terms allow ‘additional security measures (e.g. age verification)’; reviewers report ID checks for UK and US age-verification states, as reported | Medium | |
not applicable | not stated | not applicable; any age checks are the connected provider’s | High | |
13 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | ID or selfie | France, UK, Italy, Australia and 26 US states (AL, AR, AZ, FL, GA, ID, IN, KS, KY, LA, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, OH, OK, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WV, WY): video selfie with ID-and-face-match fallback through unnamed third-party verifiers, required before NSFW content; elsewhere self-declared | Medium | |
14 | self-declared | none | Medium | |
18 | self-declared | none | Medium |
What stands out
The law is driving this, not the apps
Every real check on the list maps to a regulation: the UK Online Safety Act, Australia’s age-assurance codes, Brazil’s rules, and the US state laws that now cover 26 states. Apps add verification where they are forced to and nowhere else. If you are outside those regions, a checkbox is still the norm, including on the most explicit platforms.
Minimum ages that do not match the product
Three apps set the minimum age at 13 and one at 14 while offering adult or romantic characters: SoulFun (13, or 16 in the EU), Sakura AI (13 in the privacy policy, 18 in the terms), Anima (terms require 18 yet allow supervised minors) and Talkie (14). PolyBuzz’s FAQ still advertises a Teen Mode that contradicts its 18+ terms. These inconsistencies are the clearest sign of a policy nobody has read recently.
Payment as verification
Kindroid and Nomi treat a valid card on file as proof of age, which is also how CrushOn’s card-charge gate works. It is cheap and it keeps out most minors, but it is not what the UK or Australian rules mean by age assurance, and it may not survive the next round of enforcement.
Apps that check nobody
Of the adult platforms, MyBabes, Candy AI and OurDream rely on a self-declaration at sign-up as of October 2026, with Candy telling Reuters it would comply with Australia’s rules and OurDream showing an extra step in some markets without saying which. Expect all three to add checks for UK and Australian users; the alternative is being blocked there, which is what happened to several smaller apps in 2026.
Questions people ask
Which AI companion apps require ID verification?
Only in specific regions: Janitor AI (Australia, Brazil, UK via k-ID), SpicyChat (France, UK, Italy, Australia and 26 US states, video selfie or ID), Character.AI (worldwide age estimation, then a selfie or ID if it cannot confirm an adult), Kindroid (Yoti for flagged free accounts) and, as reported, CrushOn (card charge in the UK, Australia, Brazil and parts of the EU).
Do AI girlfriend apps check your age?
Most do not, beyond a checkbox or a date of birth. Thirty-three of 43 apps use self-declaration everywhere; six add real checks in regulated countries; four describe nothing.
Does MyBabes verify age?
Not with documents. As of October 2026 it uses a self-declared 18+ confirmation at sign-up; its published “Model Verification Policy” is about the synthetic characters, not users. Stronger checks are likely in the UK and Australia.
Is Character.AI for adults only?
No. The minimum age is 13 (16 in the EU and UK), but open-ended chat has been closed to under-18s since November 2025, and the app uses an age-estimation model with a selfie or ID fallback to sort users.
Why does SpicyChat ask for a selfie?
Because of age-verification laws in France, the UK, Italy, Australia and 26 US states. The check runs through third-party verifiers before NSFW content unlocks; elsewhere SpicyChat uses self-declaration.
Apps in this article
MyBabes
Multi-feature
8.3
The broadest creative toolkit in the category: eight named video engines with published per-second prices, two image model lines, a story studio, AI-refereed roleplay games and a creator paywall. Browser only, no voice calls, and the token maths take a minute.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From €9.99/mo (3-month plan)
Editor’s pick

Kindroid
Multi-feature
7.4
The most transparent power-user companion: published memory limits, a new Polaris model, explicit content for verified adults. The free tier ends on 1 October 2026; expect a stacked bill and credit meters.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From $13.99/month on the web ($11.67/month billed yearly); free preview of 50 interactions only
Editor’s pick

Character.AI
Roleplay
6.8
The biggest character catalogue around, now with a $4.99 Lite tier below c.ai+. Strict no-pornography rule, ads and paid Charms on the free tier, a heavy legal history, and a chief executive leaving for Disney.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From Free; Lite $4.99/month; c.ai+ $9.99/month or $94.99/year

Janitor AI
Roleplay
6.7
The largest free character-chat community, and genuinely free: text only, no images, no video. Memory on the house model is short, and quality dipped in 2026. Janitor+ and the Router fix that for a fee; a proxy fixes it for less.
From Free; Janitor+ $12.99/mo; Router credits metered on top

SpicyChat
Roleplay
6.6
An uncensored, community-driven roleplay platform with a genuinely usable free tier, transparent pricing and a strong model line-up. Short replies, small context on cheaper tiers, no iOS app and regional age checks are the trade-offs.
Images
Voice
Memory
From Free; Get A Taste $5.95/month or $60/year (from 8 September 2026)

CrushOn AI
Roleplay
4.6
A large ‘unfiltered’ character-chat site whose paperwork does not match its pitch: terms that ban sexual content, an unreachable pricing page, credit-burning premium models, no refunds and no app. Capable chat, poor transparency.
Voice
From Free (limited credits); Standard from about $5.99/month, as reported
More from Radar
Xotic AI pricing: XOT tokens, the €24.99 plan and real media costs
Xotic AI’s Ultimate plan is €24.99 a month with 1,000 XOT; images cost 50 XOT, clips 150 to 500, calls 50 a minute, and every payment is final. Worked monthly bills and the refund wording.
Talkie+ explained: price, what it unlocks and whether it is worth it
Talkie+ is $9.99 a month or $49.99 for the first year on the App Store, with Pro at $24.99. It removes ads and the 50-message wall. Here is what it unlocks and how it compares with c.ai+.
Is Nomi AI safe? Privacy, age checks, memory data and what to expect
Nomi AI has a named US operator, no known breach and self-serve deletion, but a vague training clause, no refunds and age checks verified only in Australia and Kansas.
Kindroid models explained: Polaris, Ember, Reverie and the tiers
Pick Polaris on Speedy with the Companion flair. Kindroid’s model line from Rhapsody V6 to Polaris, the reasoning slider, context per tier, Lite’s retirement and what Ultra and MAX add.
How to cancel CrushOn AI: subscription, refunds, account deletion
Cancel CrushOn AI on the web under Profile → My Subscription → Manage → Cancel Subscription. Access runs to the end of the cycle, and the terms rule out refunds.
How to cancel Nomi AI: subscription, refunds and account deletion
Cancel Nomi AI where you bought it: on the web via Profile → Subscription → Manage Subscription, or in the App Store or Google Play. Payments are non-refundable.
How to cancel Character.AI: c.ai+, refunds and account deletion
Cancel c.ai+ where you bought it: App Store, Google Play, or Settings → Account → Manage on the web. The plan runs to the end of the period; no partial refunds.
Refund policies of 43 AI companion apps, compared
22 apps give no refunds, 8 give a short window, 6 decide case by case. The exact refund wording and what happens to your credits, for every app in the directory.
5 dark horses: underrated AI companion apps in 2026
MyBabes, Kindroid, SillyTavern, Seduced AI and Lovescape score near the top of Radar’s directory with a fraction of the big brands’ fame. Here is why, and the catch with each.