Refund policies of 43 AI companion apps, compared
22 apps give no refunds, 8 give a short window, 6 decide case by case. The exact refund wording and what happens to your credits, for every app in the directory.
By AI Companion Radar Editors
· 8 min read

Desk research: every row comes from the app’s own terms, privacy policy, help centre, pricing page or store listing, read on 2 October 2026, with second-hand facts marked “as reported”. AI Companion Radar takes no money from any app and uses no affiliate links. Confidence reflects how much we could read first-party.
Twenty-two of the 43 apps in the directory say there are no refunds. Eight give you a window, and it is short: 24 hours on MyBabes, Candy AI, Dondi AI and GoLove AI, and only if you have used almost no credits; 14 days on Joi AI and Seduced AI with conditions that are hard to meet; 30 days on Promptchan if you have barely used it. Six decide case by case, five defer to Apple or Google, and two publish nothing. Unused credits are kept after cancellation on seven apps, lost on seven more, and not mentioned by the rest. The table has the exact wording for every app.

SoulFun’s subscription terms, one of the clearer no-refund statements, October 2026.
How we checked
We read the refund clause in each app’s terms of service and any separate refund policy or billing FAQ on 2 October 2026, and recorded the stated policy, the window and conditions, and what happens to unused tokens, coins or credits when you cancel. Marketing claims (“money-back guarantee”) are noted where they conflict with the terms. Apps whose terms could not be read are marked low confidence.
The table
App | Policy | Window and conditions | Unused credits on cancel | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
none | none; EU, EEA, UK and Swiss users keep a 14-day withdrawal right unless waived at purchase | not stated | Medium | |
none | none; subscription fees non-refundable except by law, case-by-case exceptions at the company’s discretion; Google Play purchases follow store rules | not stated | Medium | |
window | 24 h after payment if 20 or fewer tokens used (outside the EU and UK); EU and UK customers have a 14-day withdrawal right on the first purchase | not stated | Medium | |
store rules | none from Chai; refunds go through Apple or Google, and the EULA (28 July 2026) promises one only where the app fails a store warranty | not stated | Medium | |
none | none; no partial refunds for unused time, store purchases follow Apple and Google rules | kept | Medium | |
not stated | not published | not stated | Low | |
none | none; refunds only ‘explicitly granted’ at the company’s discretion (terms rev. June 2025) | not stated | Medium | |
none | none except duplicate charges or billing errors, as reported | lost | Low | |
store rules | not published; subscriptions are sold through Apple and Google | not stated | Low | |
window | 24 h after payment if usage is minimal (subscriptions); 24 h if no tokens used (token packs). Marketing mentions a 7-day guarantee that the terms do not grant | lost | Medium | |
case-by-case | none; refunds only for company error or technical fault | not stated | Medium | |
none | none, unless consumer protection law requires | not stated | High | |
store rules | none; the terms call store purchases final, so any refund goes through Apple or Google | not stated | Medium | |
window | subscriptions: only if requested before the next billing period, no partial periods; one-time purchases: 7 days if content not accessed, case by case | not stated | Medium | |
case-by-case | none stated; pricing page offers a ‘Money Back Guarantee’ under which you may ‘apply for the refund’ | not stated | Low | |
case-by-case | none; requests reviewed within 14 days, CCBill purchases go through CCBill | not stated | Medium | |
window | 24 h after payment and fewer than 20 credits used (subscriptions); 24 h and no credits used (credit packs); card payments only, UPI excluded | lost (credits expire at the end of the billing period and on cancellation) | Medium | |
none | none; all subscription and Luna purchases are final except where law requires a refund | not stated | Medium | |
none | none; pro-rata refund only if Janitor terminates a paid plan through no fault of the user | kept | High | |
window | 14 days from purchase, only for card fraud, a first accidental Neuron pack (full if unspent, partial if partly spent) or termination by Joi | lost (used or unused Neurons in the current month are not refunded) | Medium | |
case-by-case | none; generally no refunds and all sales final, in-app purchases non-refundable, chargebacks may lead to a ban | kept | High | |
none | none; all digital sales final | lost (plan and bonus coins expire 6 months after credit; purchased coin packs do not expire) | Medium | |
store rules | none; refund requests go to Apple or Google and Linky accepts no liability for them. Separate guarantee only if the service is non-functional for more than five consecutive business days, as reported | lost | Medium | |
none | none; terms exclude refunds on breach or discontinuation, help centre says chips are non-refundable | kept (chips do not expire) but only active subscribers can use them | Medium | |
none | none; one-time partial or full refund possible at support discretion | not stated | Low | |
window | 24 h after a direct payment if fewer than 20 tokens used; later requests reviewed case by case | kept | High | |
none | none; all purchases non-refundable except where law requires or a technical error prevented delivery | not stated | Medium | |
none | none; discretionary case-by-case exceptions | not stated | Medium | |
none | none; all payments non-refundable including unused time, partial months and downgrades, with discretionary exceptions via support@nomi.ai | kept | Medium | |
case-by-case | refused once more than 25% of a product is used; monthly plans not refunded if that month’s coins were used; annual plans may be partly refunded; crypto never refunded; a separate 14-day framework is also published | kept | Medium | |
none | none; sales are final on Apple, Google and web (Stripe/PayPal); terms state the EU 14-day withdrawal right does not apply | not stated | Medium | |
not stated | not published; a ‘Refund and Fraud Policy’ is linked in the footer but could not be read. Trustpilot complaints centre on cancellation and refund friction | not stated | Low | |
none | none; payments not refunded even if the subscription is cancelled | not stated | High | |
window | 30 days from purchase if no significant AI usage, case by case; crypto non-refundable | not stated | Medium | |
none | none; all sales final except where local law requires, and the EU 14-day right lapses once the purchase is delivered; store purchases follow Apple or Google | kept | Medium | |
none | none; all subscription purchases final, no partial-period refunds, EU 14-day right excluded; limited exceptions for the company’s own errors | not stated | Medium | |
none | none; subscription fees non-refundable except by law, with case-by-case exceptions at the company’s discretion. App-store purchases go through Apple or Google | not stated | Medium | |
window | 14 days (EU withdrawal) only if no credits used, no images uploaded and the Discover feed not browsed; otherwise only for double billing or total service failure; $10 two-day trial is non-refundable | lost | Medium | |
none | not applicable; the software is free and any charges are from the user’s model provider | not applicable | High | |
none | none | not stated | Medium | |
case-by-case | none published; the terms refer to a refund policy and invite contact, in practice no refunds for unused time apart from statutory rights | not stated | Medium | |
store rules | none; no partial-month refunds, gem recharges refunded only for system error or duplicate charge | not stated | Medium | |
none | none; all payments and XOT token purchases are final, including early cancellation or dissatisfaction. A billing FAQ reportedly says requests are reviewed case by case | not stated | Medium |
What stands out
The 24-hour, 20-token rule
Four apps use almost identical wording: a refund within 24 hours of a direct payment if fewer than about 20 tokens or credits have been used. It is better than nothing, but it means a refund is only available before you have tried the thing you paid for. Dondi AI’s marketing mentions a 7-day guarantee its terms do not grant; MyBabes’s pricing page says “money-back guarantee” while its terms give the 24-hour rule. Read the terms, not the banner.
EU withdrawal rights are routinely waived
Paradot, Romantic AI and Replika state that the EU’s 14-day withdrawal right does not apply once the digital service is delivered, which the law allows if you consented at purchase. Candy AI and Anima are the exceptions that keep the 14-day right for EU and UK customers on a first purchase. Seduced AI keeps it only if you used no credits, uploaded nothing and did not browse the feed.
Store purchases follow store rules
If you subscribed inside an iPhone or Android app, Chai, Eva AI, Linky, Digi AI, Character.AI, Replika and others send you to Apple or Google, whose refund process is separate and often more generous than the app’s own terms. That is one argument for subscribing through the store rather than the website on mobile-first apps.
What happens to your credits
Kept: MyBabes (tokens never expire), Lovescape (chips do not expire, but only subscribers can spend them), Kindroid and a few others. Lost: OurDream plan coins after six months, Joi AI Neurons at month end, Linky Coins on cancellation, and HeraHaven Luna. Twenty-seven policies say nothing, which in practice means the balance disappears when the plan does. Spend credits before the period ends unless the app states otherwise.
Questions people ask
Can I get a refund from an AI girlfriend app?
Usually not. Twenty-two of 43 apps state no refunds. Where a window exists it is 24 hours on MyBabes, Candy AI, Dondi AI and GoLove AI, conditional on minimal use; 14 days on Joi AI and Seduced AI with strict conditions; 30 days on Promptchan if barely used.
Does Candy AI give refunds?
Within 24 hours of payment if 20 or fewer tokens were used, outside the EU and UK; EU and UK customers keep a 14-day withdrawal right on their first purchase. Later requests are at Candy’s discretion.
Does MyBabes have a refund policy?
Yes: a refund within 24 hours of a direct payment if fewer than 20 tokens have been used; later requests are reviewed case by case. Unused tokens stay on the account after cancellation.
Do I lose my credits if I cancel?
On seven apps you keep them (MyBabes, Kindroid, Lovescape with limits, and others), on seven you lose them, and 27 policies do not say. Assume they vanish with the plan unless the terms state otherwise.
Is it better to subscribe through the App Store?
For mobile-first apps that defer refunds to Apple or Google, yes: the store’s refund process is independent of the app’s terms. For web-only apps the question does not arise.
Apps in this article
MyBabes
Multi-feature
8.3
The broadest creative toolkit in the category: eight named video engines with published per-second prices, two image model lines, a story studio, AI-refereed roleplay games and a creator paywall. Browser only, no voice calls, and the token maths take a minute.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From €9.99/mo (3-month plan)
Editor’s pick

Candy AI
Multi-feature
8.0
The most complete media stack in the category, chat, voice, images, 120-second Live Action video and Story Mode, but the subscription is only the entry fee. Tokens for anything visual push real spend well past the headline price.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From About €3.99/mo (annual promo); €13.99 monthly; tokens extra
Editor’s pick

OurDream AI
Multi-feature
7.8
A US-registered companion with a published coin price list, decent DeepSeek-based chat and a real free tier. Video is the weak link: short, expensive and often unreliable. Good value on the annual plan for chat and images.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From $19.99/mo or $119.88/yr ($9.99/mo) with 1,000 DreamCoins/mo

Kindroid
Multi-feature
7.4
The most transparent power-user companion: published memory limits, a new Polaris model, explicit content for verified adults. The free tier ends on 1 October 2026; expect a stacked bill and credit meters.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From $13.99/month on the web ($11.67/month billed yearly); free preview of 50 interactions only
Editor’s pick

Nomi AI
Multi-feature
6.9
The strongest memory in mainstream companion apps, with expressive voice included, held back by suggestive-only images, a no-refund policy and pricing you only see after signing up.
Images
Video
Voice
Memory
From $15.99/month ($8.33/month billed yearly); free tier available

Replika
Companion chat
5.9
The original AI companion, mid-rebuild. Replika 2.0 reportedly drops the Diary and the 3D avatar and has cost some users memories. Soft romance only, prices unpublished, all sales final.
Images
Voice
Memory
From Free; paid plans from $7.99/month or $49.99/year on the US App Store (tier not stated)
More from Radar
How to cancel Character.AI: c.ai+, refunds and account deletion
Cancel c.ai+ where you bought it: App Store, Google Play, or Settings → Account → Manage on the web. The plan runs to the end of the period; no partial refunds.
How to cancel CrushOn AI: subscription, refunds, account deletion
Cancel CrushOn AI on the web under Profile → My Subscription → Manage → Cancel Subscription. Access runs to the end of the cycle, and the terms rule out refunds.
How to cancel Nomi AI: subscription, refunds and account deletion
Cancel Nomi AI where you bought it: on the web via Profile → Subscription → Manage Subscription, or in the App Store or Google Play. Payments are non-refundable.
5 AI companion apps that go beyond chat: stories, games, scenes
MyBabes has the most structured modes (episodic stories, scored roleplay), Character.AI the most finished and cheapest, SpicyChat the best free scene tools. Candy AI and Nomi follow.
5 AI companion apps we would not pay for in 2026
Chai, CrushOn AI, Muah AI, SoulFun and Botify AI: documented problems with limits, pricing, terms, a data breach and per-message meters. Free use is a separate question.
7 Character.AI alternatives for adults (2026)
Janitor AI and SpicyChat are the closest unfiltered replacements for Character.AI. Kindroid wins on memory, SillyTavern on control, MyBabes if you want images, video and scored roleplay too.
Janitor AI vs MyBabes: free text roleplay or a paid media studio?
Janitor AI wins on price, library size, text depth with a proxy, model choice and apps. MyBabes wins on images, video, built-in memory, stories and games. Category winners and cost maths.
Janitor AI vs SpicyChat: models, memory, free tiers and prices
Janitor AI wins on free text roleplay, bring-your-own models, price and apps. SpicyChat wins on named models, memory tools, group chat, images and TTS. Category winners and cost maths inside.
5 dark horses: underrated AI companion apps in 2026
MyBabes, Kindroid, SillyTavern, Seduced AI and Lovescape score near the top of Radar’s directory with a fraction of the big brands’ fame. Here is why, and the catch with each.